PDA

View Full Version : Why not make silicon paintballs??

ubooze
04-10-2002, 05:18 PM
I believe paintballs made out of silicon would be a good idea(the type of silicon that you use to seal things). I mean, it doesn't change form like normal gelatin, and also temperature has little effect on the silicon. Also, it won't let water in, and it holds its shape pretty well. It may have a little give to lets say a bolt or it may make a tight seal when there is pressure behind it, that would mean better gas efficiency. Also, it can be spread out htin, but it will still be strong. One advantage to a thin spread is the idea of more paint, meaning a bigger mark, meaning harder to cheat. I'm not a scientist or anything, but it seems that this would be a good material to use. What is your imput????

Blennidae
04-10-2002, 06:12 PM
Are you talking about silicone? Silicon is what they make computer chips out of.

ubooze
04-10-2002, 06:16 PM
That the element kind, but more of the manufactured type like sealants.

EDIT: Can someone give me a mature and simple explanation what would the negative of this idea be?? Some say it will be more expensive, really?

Blennidae
04-10-2002, 06:32 PM
Silicon is an element (Si), silicone is not. I don't know for sure but I don't think silicon is used as a sealant, where silicone is.

If you are thinking of silicon, the #1 reason not to use it to make paintballs is probably cost.
"Costs Regular grade silicon (99%) costs about $0.50/g. Silicon 99.9% pure costs about $50/lb; hyperpure silicon may cost as much as $100/oz."

Playing paintball is expensive enough as it is.

If you are thinking of silicone, I would think the biggest problem is that its rubbery consistancy. You want the paintballs to break not bounce.

Mature and simple enough?:)

ubooze
04-10-2002, 06:43 PM
Thank you!! I needed to see some facts and that helped me out.

Tufiremn
04-10-2002, 09:45 PM