PDA

View Full Version : At how many bps can a regular AIR valve no longer keep up?

ScoobYSnax
04-15-2002, 04:47 AM
Hey guys, I am considering getting a retro valve, but don't know if I really need one. I'm a newb, and don't have a very fast trigger finger(s). I will probably end up around 6-7bps MAX (right now it's more like 3-4). My question is, at what point is the AIR valve no longer able to keep up? When does it start having bad velocity fluctuations?

Also, at 3-5 bps, does an AIR and retro valve perform the same?

Let me know guys, i want to know if I really NEED the retro or not.

nuggy43
04-15-2002, 06:44 AM
I easily get my classic mag up to 15 bps with no problems. Even with a slow trigger finger u should be able to get 8-10 bps. I have no need to get a retro valve mainly because i think 15 bps is enough any more is really useless. But some people think thats not enough.

Croix71
04-15-2002, 07:27 AM
Curious, how did you measure the 15bps? Did you use a hyperframe or something?

pip_999
04-15-2002, 07:30 AM
Originally posted by nuggy43
I easily get my classic mag up to 15 bps with no problems.

boy thats the highlight of my day :D

lol 15bps

BlackVCG
04-15-2002, 09:39 AM
Odyssey Paintball has a video of a HyperFrame Mag at 16bps. It's having no problems.

Croix71
04-15-2002, 10:21 AM
I finally saw those videos early this month. They exceeded their bandwith last month. :D

xmetal2001
04-15-2002, 02:34 PM
im not positive, but i think i remember reading that you actually start getting shootdown at 7bps but its not noticable until somewhere around 11-12

ScoobYSnax
04-15-2002, 03:28 PM
Thanks xmetal, that was exactly what I was looking for. Anyone else back up xmetal's numbers? Let me know, thanks!

Gunga
04-15-2002, 05:24 PM
Originally posted by xmetal2001
im not positive, but i think i remember reading that you actually start getting shootdown at 7bps but its not noticable until somewhere around 11-12