PDA

View Full Version : Armed Forces? I need advice.

bsusigep18
05-31-2002, 08:05 PM
I need some advice on what to do with my life, no big deal right?:rolleyes: Basicially my situation is this, im 20 years old, i've wasted 2 years of college, i have no money and i have zero clue what i want to do with my life. When i graduated from high school i never considered going into the armed forces, but now that i find myself with too many paths while having little confidence in my decisions. I know that going somewhere, whether it be the Army, the Marines, or whatever branch, i know that it will lead me in the right direction. So basicially im looking for advice on what to do, and also some personal stories on what you've experienced through your experiences in the armed forces, good and bad. Thanks!

MagMan5446
05-31-2002, 08:17 PM
Go to your local recruiter...talk to them.

shartley
05-31-2002, 08:40 PM
Go to your local recruiter...talk to them.
NOOOOOOOOO! LOL Sorry, but I think that is a bad mistake.

Recruiters are out to SELL you the job. They have quotas to fill and jobs to put people in. You want to know about each service go to each of their main web sites and read them. Also talk to people who have been in.

Keep one thing in mind… most jobs in the military will NOT help you when you get out, no matter how much they try to tell you they will. Don’t believe me? Ask a former service member what they are doing NOW, and then ask what they did in the Service…. Most times it will not even be close. There are a few exceptions, but normally the jobs people do in the service are of little importance when they get out… the EDUCATION they got IS. ;)

Do your research FIRST. See what jobs actually WILL help you when you get out, if that is your goal. OR make sure you get as much Education as you can while you are in. Even if you plan to make it a career. Plans don’t always go like folks thought they would.