PDA

View Full Version : Porting...

CenterFire
06-12-2002, 10:44 AM
Is it me or is over-porting of barrels becoming rampant? I've seen numerous new barrels with about 4" of unported length... *sigh* Am I the only one who is bothered by this trend?

Maybe it's because Dye is so popular and the other companies saw Dye's porting style and copied it? I don't know. Maybe you gyus have better explanations. ;)

Phsycopath
06-12-2002, 11:11 AM
I am not bothered simply because Dye is a good brand and in my opinion porting doesnt do anything.Of course i may be wrong and i am no paintball expert but all porting does in mty opinion is maybe slow the ball down a little and make urgun quieter

CenterFire
06-12-2002, 11:17 AM
Well, yes it does make it quieter, but porting quiets shooting by releasing gas. If gas is released before the ball reaches full acceleration, the result is inefficiency. (And I don't consider 4-6" of unported barrel length enough for a ball to reach full acceleration). Thus over-ported barrels require more gas to get a paintball to 280-300 FPS.

Phsycopath
06-12-2002, 11:20 AM
OK so i was wrong but still maybe Dye and 32 degrees and all those other companies are just stupid

Ityl
06-12-2002, 11:25 AM
my favorite barrel is this one I got for $8 from a closeout at CO Paintball. I forgot the name but it has straight grooves running down the barrel and has eye shapes for a muzzle brake. When I first got it the balls hooked like crazy. So I put it on a lathe and cut the muzzle brake off. It shot great. It's about 11 inches long of solid barrel. It gets great efficiency, I have to turn the velocity way down to get it below 300 from using a normal barrel. It isn't loud either, I think because it's long enough. DOWN WITH PORTIING! hehe

RT_Luver
06-12-2002, 11:25 AM
they do over port there barrels...and its kinda anoying

CenterFire
06-12-2002, 11:27 AM