PDA

View Full Version : confessions of an automag squid

Bored383
07-27-2002, 06:47 PM
Though I have been playing paintball since 1987 I never paid much attention to automags. I'd borrowed them from friends before and used them, and while I had fun I just never felt like getting one.

Then I started reading about the Level 10 bolt and decided the day had come . . . so I watched ebay for a bit and then bought a nice R/T valved hopper left powerfeed automag. I barely fiddled with it at all (and never played a game with it) before I got the Level 10 bolt kit.

So there I was, diving in with both feet. I installed the level 10 bolt and fiddled with it, and then I futzed with it, and then I tinkered with it. While I was impressed with how the bolt works I was still not 100% satisfied with the paintgun overall. Something wasn't quite right.

And then while working on fine tuning the level 10 setup I became increasingly frustrated with the valve not wanting to come out of the body of the automag. The Level 10 bolt had stopped firing also. I was annoyed. So I took my automag entirely apart. It seems the poppet that resets the trigger was getting stuck down. Or so I thought. I fiddled with it some to no avail and then I purchased a clue. I noticed the rod that resets the trigger is adjustable for length.

So I adjusted it a bit.

Put the paintgun back together, configured the Level 10 with the 1 size smaller carrier (the quick start setup on my mag had a carrier leak), air'd it up and Voila! It works like a champ now!

Tomorrow, weather permitting, I'll see how the setup works in play. In testing out back it has devoured a case of el cheapo recball paint without a hiccup. The limited firing I did with it before the Level 10 it was munching on marbalizer . . . nice to see such noticeable gains from such a relatively inexpensive mod.