PDA

View Full Version : Buying a new minimag, newbie here needs help

FalconGuy016
08-18-2002, 11:13 AM
Hey everyone thanks for clickin here,

I'm a newbie to paintball but I've been getting advice to upgrade guns (I've got a pro/carbine). I've researched a bit and I've come to the minimag. I still need to use c02 so I found out that an expansion chamber is neccesary and a bottomline (which is what I want anyways). But I cant find any resources or anything to help me find out what I actually need to get, like adaptors or hoses and other things, and I dont know if I need to buy a specific kind or brand or something that is best for the minimag. Please help, all I really want is the simplest setup I can get with an expansion chamber, bottomline, and a dropforard, but something that works wells with the gun. Thanks ahead for helping.

P.S. whats with the HUGE price differences on the minimag? I can buy the same gun for 500$ or 279$ at the same website!! And in APG the prices in the ads vary so much too!! I dont understand, is there a difference I dont know about ?

Cristobal
08-18-2002, 11:30 AM
Not sure about the price differences, but I can tell you a little bit about what you need for you air setup.

First, if you're running CO2 on-gun, you'll want an anti-siphon tank. That will greatly reduce the danger of getting liquid CO2 in the gun. (You could also run a vertical tank or remote which would do the same thing -- but if you do this you don't wannt an anti-siphon)

You'll need a bottomline asa and air lines to connect the asa to your expansion chamber and the epansion chamber to the valve. Braided stainless steel or macroline works best. Avoid microline because it won't flow as much air. If you go with the ss lines, you'll want a quick disconnect for sure. (Though a qd and a degass slide check are good things to have even on macro, and especially with the lvl 10) Be aware that the quality of quick disconnects varries, and the cheapest ones may not last as long.