PDA

View Full Version : How Many Of You Know How To Drive Stick?

dio91
08-19-2002, 06:54 PM
My parents bought my '95 Honda Accord EX from my neighbor (always said they wouldnt pay for anything, although I do have to pay for gas, insurance, driver's ed., license, etc.) and it's a stick. I have gone a few times with my dad driving in parking lots having some trouble lol, it gets really annoying stalling, but I'm getting the hang of it. So, how many of you do know how to drive stick?

dio

magking1971
08-19-2002, 07:16 PM
I'm a truck driver so yes shifting is fun when you have 12 gears.:D

subbeh
08-19-2002, 07:16 PM
I do.

You'll get the hang of it... it's not hard at all. Just let it flow. When you stop, clutch goes down. When you shift, clutch goes down. When you launch, clutch slowly comes up, gas slowly goes down. It's not so tough :) Although every car is different.

I learned to drive stick on a 63 corvette stingray converable. You gotta give it a LOT of gas to launch. Then I drove a civic... gave it too much gas, did a burnout. Weeeee :D

Havoc_online
08-19-2002, 07:37 PM
I learned when I first got my license by going and test driving a WHOLE BUNCH of cars from used lots, lol. I'd soon leave after returning the car incase I messed anything up too bad.;) I got very good very quick, lol:)

lopxtc
08-19-2002, 07:55 PM
The best lesson ever for learning to drive a stick is to find the biggest damn hill you can find and start at the bottom of it ...
Come to a compleate stop about 1/4 of the way up and then try to get going again without rolling back to far ... repeat all the way up *L* ... thats how I learned ...

Aaron

PyRo
08-19-2002, 07:57 PM
I can do it, but I somehow manage to make the car want to accelerate and stop and accelerate again and so on untill I get going :)

Magic37220
08-19-2002, 09:32 PM
i learned on a stick. When I drive an automatic, i realize how much learning on one helped me.

headcase
08-19-2002, 10:09 PM
Yep.