PDA

View Full Version : shortest possible mag

kgbbonecrusher
10-05-2002, 01:23 AM
ok boys and girls. im new to the whole automag thing. i have a tricked B2K, and im lookin towards a minimag. i love mags, and the new level 10 bolt didnt help me when i didnt have the money for a mag :(. but now.. OH BOY! now heres my question. ive seen pics of people with barrels (one looked like a dye stainless) where the front porting is sticking out, maybe 2 inches max. i want one.... bad. It seems, though, that if your barrel was taht short, you wouldnt have much distance. ive got a freak (dont complain, theres a lot to be said. i love mine, so there!) and id like to put it on my mag when i get it. im mainly gettin the mag for compactness. how short can i get the freak, maybe a lapco (im lookin into it)so that it will be pretty short, but not so short that i cant get an average distance on it? im wanting to shoot.. oh.. fifty feet maybe and have some control over where it goes without lobbing it. im thinking going with the 10 inch freak, but i dont know how long overall that would make the gun. i guess to sum it up is, how much of the barrel is inside the mag body before it comes out. for instance, if i mounted a 12" on it, how much would really be stickin out? thanks guys.. i tend to put my questions kinda... into retarded form, so thanks for reading this.. page. :D

Load SM5
10-05-2002, 09:09 AM
There's been some discussion of really small freak tips on this thread http://www.automags.org/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=51813 I know the Spart Parts venturi barrel is pretty short, 6" I think. The Rt Pro/Emag stock barrels are fairly short and great with larger bore paints.

Also barrel length has little to no effect on accuracy. It's all about barrel to paint match.

personman
10-05-2002, 12:41 PM
My mag used to be like the shortest and smallest one in the world ;)
yesss its all about the 4 inch barrel!

Coaster
10-05-2002, 12:48 PM
why would you ever want a 4 inch barrel??