PDA

View Full Version : Spinning my balls

Crimson_Turkey
11-20-2002, 12:27 AM
I read in the tech tips section that ball spin does not work because of the fill not spinning. Can you explain the flatline then?

TippmannMan
11-20-2002, 01:06 AM
im no expert but i think the ball spin controversy is mostly applied to rifled barrels. for the flatline the barrel creates a backspin on the ball. and i dont think the ball is being spun nearly as fast as a rifled barrel. hard for me to put into words but the ball is spinning very rapidly in a rifled barrel and the fill cannot catch up so it either doesnt affect accuracy at all or causes the ball to wobble. with the flatline i dont think the ball rotates nearly as fast and its on a backspin rather than a twisting motion. just try to picture it i think it makes sense. being a flatline user myself i can say that range was most definitely increased but i was shooting so slow people could catch my balls and it has hard to break paint at long distances.

Crimson_Turkey
11-20-2002, 01:11 AM
I think that if anything the rifled barrels would spin slower. That may be the alledged problem with them. I have heard that the polygon-progressive barrels are great though.

pbzmag
11-20-2002, 01:59 AM
With the flatline and the z-body, both puts a backspin on the ball. This spin creates a high pressure pocket under the ball thus creating lift. it can be easily demonstrated by holding a piece of paper with your thumb and index finger on one end and let the rest over your hand. Next blow across the top and the paper will rise. By blowing across the top, you are creating lower pressure pocket on top than on the bottom. With this type of systems, the ball needs to spin freely in the barrel. To do this you need a large bore barrel. If the ball does not roll out easily, friction is created, slowing the spin, thus not allowing the ball to fly a flatter trajectory.

Crimson_Turkey
11-20-2002, 09:44 AM