PDA

View Full Version : lvl 10 cold weather chopping

ratmage
12-09-2002, 09:24 AM
Hello all,

I am writing to ask opinions on how to correct a chopping issue I am having with my Lvl 10 E-Mag. During normal weather conditions (40 degrees plus) the marker works perfectly but if the temperature drops much below that I begin to have problems with paint chopping. I use Nelson Hot Spot paint which has a relatively thick shell. If I reduce my firing rate the chopping subsides. I am using a warp feed and 12v revvy which is the set up I have been using for the last 5-6 months. But it is only recently (since the weather has turned) that I have started having a problem. Prior to the cold weather I would chop about one paintball out of three cases worth. One of my team mates has an identical set up to mine and has similar results. I am wondering if anyone has had a similar issue and what they did to correct it. I would like to get the marker set up so that it can operate properly over the range of temperatures I typically play in (30s to 90s)but I am not sure if that is possible. Thank you in advance for any information/ideas you can share.

digitard
12-09-2002, 10:51 AM
I would think, correct me if im wrong, that the chopping is because the bolt is literally sticking due to the extremely cold weather ... out here in Arizona that doesn't happen at all but I've played in sub 40's up north and my bolt started sticking a bit and it would chop the ball ....

I would assume thats the only major reason, but if I'm wrong someone please correct me.

Sincerely,
Dave

Smokee_2_7
12-09-2002, 11:37 AM