PDA

View Full Version : Need Reffing Advice

Carbon
02-11-2003, 04:52 AM
Anway im gonna ref this saturday at the local field. This is my first time reffing, but as far as i can tell, for certain, i can do a %100 better job than the few "refs" on the current field roster. I say this becuse iv played while being reffed by these knuckle-heads. Mind you it wasnt a case of the refs makin the right or wrong calls, Its the "little things" that bugged me. The refs are young, i would say 13-16 yrs old. go figure.

1) Appx. a good %60 of the customers/walkons/players knew the GAME rules when it was played, In fact on the last 2 occasions, I had to explain the indoor rules to the players.

2)Only %50 knew the field/playing/house rules. Unnaceptable.

3)For gods sake! people not wearing gogs in the chrono area!

4)"player driven game start times" I mean your the ref, your supposed to call when the games start and stop right, not wait till folks complain for the game start. Right? 10 to 15 min game s and a 5 to 10 min break/re-up time? sounds reasonable, that shoul be reasonable.

I want to be a good ref, but i dont want to be a stern as to take the fun out of it. A lot of noobs come to this field, and i dont want em to be jerked around by some turd chickenhawk who gets his jollies sandbagging.

Anyway all you refs out there hook a dude up with some advice, tips & tricks to keep a day of pballing fun and safe.

Creative Mayhem
02-11-2003, 08:39 AM