PDA

View Full Version : Video Games and Paintball...Opinions needed

gibby
03-05-2003, 09:40 PM
Alright...I just wanted to get a few opinions on this subject matter. First of all, I am a game designer who was assigned to work on a super hero game(details I cannot give out). I wasn't a part of the initial game design discussions and I wanted to see if I can get input from you all.

Basically, we've been given a title to work on that's supposed to cater to all ages, especially kids. So one of the issues we have is conveying danger or dangerous situations in a non-lethal fashion. As we all know, violence in video games have long been debated and whether it's the developer's responsibility or the parents. I personally believe that developers are responsible to a certain degree, but that parents should always monitor what their child plays and that they understand the difference between real life and make believe.

So where does paintball fit in? Well, as in any super hero type game, you will encounter different types of violent sitations. One scenerio is a group of gang members shooting in the city with....drum roll please...PAINTBALL GUNS!! This was the first choice because paintball guns are generally considered non-lethal.

My question to all of you is, what are some ways we can use this scenerio, and avoid the negative image that it brings if we use paintball guns to portray a non-lethal...but violent situation? Any suggestions for other "weapon" type items the gang members can use? Would you even care or be concerned if "paintball guns" were used in a video game in this manner?

FordPrefect
03-05-2003, 09:47 PM
You could use pepperball guns (not sure of name). I don't think that it'd be good for paintball for use in such a game, but, what can you do.

Curly
03-05-2003, 09:50 PM