PDA

View Full Version : New Mag owner

cky shane
04-02-2003, 08:43 PM
Alright, I'm new to Mags. I recently purchased a stock RT from eBay, downloaded the manual, and am awaiting its arrival. My questions/concerns are pretty simple:

1. The gun, he said, has not been fired in more than a year. What should I look for in the internals to ensure everything is in working order?

2. The gun is in the 900s, meaning its stars have expired, right? If I do encounter a problem and need to send it into AGD, will I just have to pay $45 and get 2 more stars?

3. I've used an Automag once before, and wasn't responsible for gassing it up/cocking it. The manual seemed a little vague. The way it was explained to me was to depress the trigger half-way while turning on the nitro. Is this right/wrong?

4. Is there anything I should do as part of normal maintence that I didn't have to do with my previous gun (a Bob Long Millennium?) The manual is, again, rather vague on this; it says to run some oil through the ASA and/or to take it completely apart and oil everything.

GhillieGuy
04-02-2003, 09:59 PM
Welcome to AO!
Well first off, gas up the gun and see if there are any leaks. If so you'll need to get a rebuild kit and replace the orings that need to be replaced. Oil her up too...

Mav D MagMan
04-02-2003, 11:24 PM
Hey Welcome!

1. Practice stripping it down (as per manual instructions). Check everything (including mainspring length) and I'd suggest getting the parts kit and replacing it all (a year is a long time for seals to go dry).

3. I don't use an RT (I have a classic valved, Minimag) however I pull the trigger all the way and allow it to engage once I the tank has sealed etc. (Halfway seems to be a good way to get it to go into runaway as you gas it up!)

4. Mags are very simple to maintain, as long as your o-rings are good all it's going to take is a few drops of oil in the ASA before every game day and afterwards, after you've cleaned it.

athomas
04-03-2003, 10:55 AM