PDA

View Full Version : bolt question

ShowTime
05-02-2003, 06:34 AM
hey i was just wondering why woulndt agd make a bolt out of derlin, or mybe plastic of some kind like the angel or timmy etc?? ii mean i know stainless steal or aluminum are better quality i think, but wouldnt the derlin give u a fast cycle sense its lighter??? just wondering...

edweird
05-02-2003, 06:39 AM
Im no expert but a non metal bolt slamming around in there has a better chance of fracturing at the aft lip...

if this happens you will have a spiffy derlin shotgun slug screaming at whatever poor soul that is unfortuante to be in front of your marker.

imho agd bolts need to and will always be metal... and btw isnt 25 bps cyclic rate fast enough?

Load SM5
05-02-2003, 07:11 AM
They tried a hybrid delrin/steel bolt and the stress proved too great for the delrin sleeves. The new LX bolts are light enough. I barely notice a kick.

magman007
05-02-2003, 08:28 AM
we did have one, and it was a pretty big failure. Something in the manufacturing royaly got screwed up, and none of em worked right. Then, some dumb kid made up a story about the bolt breaking, and failing in a different way, and made it sound all dangerous, and actually put tom into a full recal.

Also, the delrin bolts, would be much harder to righ with lvl 10, because they are that much lighter than the ss versions.

Without level 10, yes, they could theoretically cycle faster, because the bolt mooved a hella lot faster than the old lvl 7 bolt. This actually broke more balls, because of the insanely high bolt speed

Russ
05-02-2003, 09:23 AM
i was just wondering why woulndt agd make a bolt out of derlin Here's why (Oh and by the way it's DELRIN!)

xadamx
05-02-2003, 11:02 AM
it would suck big time to get whacked by that thing

NJPaint
05-02-2003, 11:29 AM
Dunno about you guys, but with the lvl 10, the kick is almost not noticeable...

BTAutoMag
05-02-2003, 11:44 AM
Originally posted by xadamx