PDA

View Full Version : milling

coolcatpete
06-07-2003, 08:47 PM
i am new at this and it looks fun to mill your own stuff so i was wondering what every one uses for milling and how you do it.

coolcatpete
06-07-2003, 08:48 PM
Oh yeah i also may want to see some pics so i have an idea of what to do and if you send a pic tell me if it is easy or hard.

rapidshooter
06-08-2003, 12:46 AM
FIRST YOU NEED A MILLING MACHINE
THEN YOU NEED BLOCKS OF ALUMINUM
HARDNESS OF PROJECTS DEPENDS ON WHAT YOUR MILLING

coolcatpete
06-08-2003, 07:38 AM
What is the milling machines name. Can I use a dremel.

GT
06-08-2003, 09:50 AM
Originally posted by coolcatpete
What is the milling machines name. Can I use a dremel.

:( :confused:

rapidshooter
06-08-2003, 09:55 AM
a milling machine ia called a nilling machine and it cost a lot of money and no you cant use a dremel tool

WickeDKlowN
06-10-2003, 01:01 AM
Milling machines cost $1000's of dollars usually. And yes, you can use a Dremel, but It can and will look like ****.

TheJester
06-18-2003, 11:36 AM
a milling machine, AKA just a mill. is a REAL fancy drill press. but it can do what a drill/drill press couldn't even imagin doing. a drill press is used for holes, a mill has a bunch of knobs and dials, and are used to cut precision parts, usually cuts are taken from a side to side manner unlike a drill press cutting a hole in a vertical manner. there's also a hudge arrey of cutters, most of the work you see here are done with end mills. sticking w/ my drill comparison, end mills are like a drill, except they have a flat bottom, and the sides of them are sharp, so you can cut along the side of something using the side of the end mill.

disclaimer- i'm sure most of you are smarter than this, but don't not try to use a drill press as a mill. it will not work, and you'll prolly end up hurting your self in the process

Lopy-slopy
06-19-2003, 09:24 AM