PDA

View Full Version : Poison Ivy

mag_pbg
08-14-2001, 06:12 AM
http://www.automags.org/ubb/frown.gif I got Poison Ivy and I havn't been able to sleep for abotu a week becasue of how bad it itches, and this is my first time ever getting it!!!

------------------
Cocker killer

magattack
08-14-2001, 09:03 AM
Well out here in newfoundland we have poison oak. It went through to pairs of jeans i was wearing and stung me, and it itches like CRAZY, put some gold bond cream on it, it works really good

Thordic
08-14-2001, 09:57 AM
Ask your doctor for Elocon cream, if its not a very severe case. Usually doctors will readily give you a prescription for a cream like that if you just show them the rash and tell them it is really itching.

If its a severe case, ask your doctor for cortisone pills. Nothing on earth works better than these pills once you have poison anything. But, considering how they are steroids, doctors only give them out in the most extreme cases (I was lucky enough to get 40 of them once, and it lasted me through 4 seperate instances of poison ivy).

And, although too late for you now, if you know you are going to be around it, go to your doctors BEFORE the summer, and ask for the preventive shot. They can give you a shot that will last for that season that will keep you from having a reaction to the oils. I wish they had that stuff when I was a kid, woulda solved me a ton of itchy misery :-)

------------------
CamoSplashed MiniMag
S/N MM12913
Clear AGD Warp Feed
14" SP AA

Lots of stuff coming...

beam
08-14-2001, 10:34 AM
Now that you've gotten it, you will be more suseptible to getting it again, and the rash will be more severe.

There is this stuff that you can get at Wal-Mart in the pharmaceuticals that you put on before you go into the woods and it prevents the ivy oil from bothering your skin.

Poison ivy is just an allergic reaction.

------------------
Intricate are you among the masses.... PAX217

irbodden
08-14-2001, 10:41 AM