PDA

View Full Version : help?

poolshark5226
08-01-2003, 07:09 PM
okay, I've been smoking for about 2 years, and I recently decided to quit. It's been only a day or so since i smoked, and I'm already getting some withdrawl-ish symptoms (stomach ache, shaking hands, and ive been irritable). I was wondering if anyone had any advice on what I could do to feel less crappy?
Thanks in advance

Python14
08-01-2003, 08:31 PM
Just take it one day at a time. My mom is currently doing this and trust me, it might just be harder on those around you than it is on you. Do something relaxing, like read, or draw, or watch TV, or work, or something.Oh yea, and get exercise.

poolshark5226
08-01-2003, 10:09 PM
Well, my parents don't even know that I've ever smoked, and I don't want to turn to them. Most of my friends smoke too, so I don't know how much they can help me. So it's basically myself, my girlfriend, and a few non-Smoker friends. And now I pretty much can't do too much relaxing. My dad pretty much gave me a half hour speech, outlining the following:
a) I am a fat lazy slob
b) I never finish what I start
c) I take no responcibility for anything
d) I am totally irrisponsible (c and d are 2 different things)
e) I USED to have talents
f) I USED to be gifted
g) I will have no future and will go to a crappy community college (besed on 2 C's that I got)
now I "can't make any of my bull**** promises, and [I] have to make things happen NOW..." If I "dont find something worthwhile to do, [he'll] make me do something worthwhile". Here is what he is MAKING me do:
a) a minimum of one hour of SAT study every day
b) go to bed no later than 12 AM every night
c) wake up no later than 10 AM every morning
d) volunteer