PDA

View Full Version : has anyone taken any distance learning/online undergraduate courses?

graycie
08-03-2003, 03:04 PM
I'm trying to figure out my academic plan for next year and was looking into some distance learning courses, so it would hopefully take some pressure off of rushing from work to get to class. So has anyone taken any of these type of courses and how did it work out for you?

Miscue
08-03-2003, 03:21 PM
I'm doing my masters through University of Phoenix right now. I like the format, sure beats going to class. But they make you work at a fast pace... I have to keep up every day.

Overall I like an online class way better... although it has some minor drawbacks.

graycie
08-03-2003, 09:24 PM
University of Phoenix is actually like 20 min away from me, and it seems like a good program to finish out my undergrad but wasn't sure how it exactly worked.

Miscue
08-03-2003, 10:41 PM
Well, it's actually better not to go to their campus. I had one like a 5 minute walk from me, but even my counselor told me not to.

It's a really cool situation. Classes go really quick, and you can graduate fast because it goes quick. Classes are about 6 weeks long, and you are doing stuff all the time throughout those 6 weeks. The workload is reasonable and manageable though. You have to be 23 years old at least... and I think you have to demonstrate that you have 3 years worth of work experience.

It is accredited, and your degree counts the same as any other university.

People have joked to me that I am 'paying for my degree' which is by far not the case. You gotta work. Really, I see no difference with the work load and quality than a regular university. The people in my classes are awesome... bunch of engineers and professionals... and what not... who don't have time to go to a regular university.