PDA

View Full Version : Political Corectness

superdesk2007
08-16-2003, 12:24 AM
What is with PC? Why do people say marker, all of the sudden you say gun referring to paintball people have to chime in and say marker?
Look at some companies that have things to do with guns; WORR Games Products, Air GUN designs.( Thats the main, or only, two that pop to mind)
I was on PBR and this kid was mocking this guy cause he said gun.
Does it help the sport grow, I don't think so, if a kid asks his mom for a marker she might consider it, when she sees it, probably notices it resembles a gun and might say no.

Me, I call them guns.

speedyejl
08-16-2003, 12:30 AM
Does it hurt the sport calling marking instruments markers? No

USAF-Flyboy with a Mag
08-16-2003, 12:31 AM
I call them guns...I can care less about the political correctness of the term...they have a prob with it they can kiss my white arse :D

LaW
08-16-2003, 12:52 AM
I have been using marker for more then 5 years now... i will say gun from time to time but marker is just the word I use mostly. It gives paintball guns a specific title in their sport.... Plus, what were paintball guns derived from in the beginning?

do i make any sense? lol

dinger
08-16-2003, 01:03 AM
i used to say paintball gun, but now i have more switched to saying marker. then again i say "well my pb gun blah blah blah..." so i kinda use both. marker would be the correct term to use, since in the paintball rules, when a player is "marked" by a paintball, they are out. sure some rules/people might say "i tagged you!!" but i mean, come on people, whos gonna call it a "paintball tagger?" that, of course, sounds quite silly. a lot of people probably define paintball as a sport for people who want to shoot other people without it being illegal (or something along those lines). and with the reference of "shooting" or "firing" a "marker," it would make sense to call it a gun.

:/

that would be my 2¢ (or even 3¢)

darklord
08-16-2003, 01:28 AM