Thread: Just turned 30, unsure of my future, looking for advice

Just turned 30, unsure of my future, looking for advice

Dear AO Community,

I work as a land surveyor and make good money but don't see myself doing this the rest of my life. My main complaint about this job is the isolation. I find myself constantly alone in the field and when I return home I have no interest in interacting with others as I'm burnt out and want to me left alone to recover for my next trip into a poison oak infested property. I hold no college degree but have a background in civil engineering. (I'm a straight A student in math and physics but an utter failure in everything else with the exception of English.) In order to control my recent feelings of depression I've turned to abusing psycho stimulants off prescription. This is not a cry for help and at this moment I feel very much in control of my choices but don't see myself being able to continue this lifestyle much further into the future. Anyone advice would be appreciated.

Warmest Regards,
    Dennis

Hey Dennis,