Another type of EBay'ish scam - Credit card numbers

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Darkstorm
    Texas Ranger
    • Aug 2002
    • 313

    #1

    Another type of EBay'ish scam - Credit card numbers

    I don't think this happened real recently but here it is.

    Here is a post from Viper's board by Viper himself
    "...... I'm a bit paranoid about such emails having received TWO in the past that WERE scams to get credit card info. The pages it sent me to had ebay logos and such, but were numeric IP addresses, and turned out to be bogus. Thankfully I contacted Ebay to verify them before I gave out any info. "
  • Mossman
    habitual line stepper
    • Oct 2001
    • 3751

    #2
    These are constantly popping up. Unless it says http://www.ebay.com at the beginning of the URL don't give it anything. Also if it looks legit but u're still worried, give it bogus data. If it's fake it will probably give you some error or act like you logged in just fine.
    My Feedback

    "Game...Blouses"

    Comment

    • Phil
      Registered User
      • May 2001
      • 506

      #3
      I just got this today... I think you just saved me from being scammed. Thanks!


      Recently we attempted to authorize payment from your credit card we have on file for you, but it was declined.
      For security purposes, our system automatically removes credit card information from an account when there is a problem or the card expires.

      Please resubmit the credit card, and provide us with new and complete information. To resubmit credit card information via our secure server, click the following link:

      Buy & sell electronics, cars, clothes, collectibles & more on eBay, the world's online marketplace. Top brands, low prices & free shipping on many items.


      This is the quickest and easiest method of getting credit card information to us. Using the secure server will ensure that the credit card will be placed on account within 24 hours.

      Copyright 1995-2002 eBay Inc.

      All Rights Reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective

      Comment

      • Curly
        Registered User
        • Feb 2002
        • 1665

        #4
        Phil that one actually looks legit. It does have the ebay.com in it. Even though its cgi3.ebay.com it is still an ebay site and part of their service.
        AGG!

        Comment

        • FalconGuy016
          Divine Right, Pevs @ AG
          • Aug 2002
          • 6127

          #5
          Yes that looks like a real one (links to ebay)
          Hey
          AIM: FalconGuy016
          BANG!!!

          Comment

          • xen_100
            super-uber spyder tech
            • Oct 2002
            • 1203

            #6
            he he......that means you didn't pay your ebay bill....they are ttrying to collect

            "super multi-green mag" Cp barrels, LX bolt, no-rise, intelli, 47ci flatline, halo................
            Red dragun body, turbo valve, 12" Boomstick, Spud magics anti-chop bolt with quickstrip, ELCD, nitroduck 68CI,Gas thru stock, 12V revy, AGD Warpfeed system
            Xen's paintball pages

            Comment

            • magman007
              I <3 my Penis
              • Jun 2001
              • 7579

              #7
              hahahaha the irony! when he actually isnt being scammed! hehehehe phil pay your e-bay bill!



              Originally posted by Tom in reffrence to a post saying he acted like my dad...
              "That's right!
              WHO'S YOUR DADDY!!"
              ALL QUIT AND NO GO!!! Team Icky Forest-Shatnerball 2003!!!
              www.tunamart.com
              DONT SUPPORT HYPOCRITICAL MISSLEAD YOUTH, BOYCOTT HK

              Comment

              • Phil
                Registered User
                • May 2001
                • 506

                #8

                Comment

                • cphilip
                  Former Moderator

                  • Jun 2026
                  • 16216

                  #9
                  yea that one is legit! I had to redo mine recently too cause I had changed my card on there and it wasn't in thier system to pay the fee's from. It's a seperate account place to were you had told them to charge the seller fee's too and it had not been updated.


                  AGD, where we are so good we can do it with only ONE tube!

                  cphilip.com

                  Comment

                  • Jack & Coke
                    TUNAMAX No. 1
                    • Jul 2002
                    • 2644

                    #10
                    FYI: Related ebay news...

                    From: http://www.thewmurchannel.com/news/2007847/detail.html

                    Alleged Ski Thieves Nabbed Through eBay
                    Police Say Victim Saw His Boards On Internet Site

                    POSTED: 8:48 a.m. EST February 27, 2003

                    CONCORD, N.H. -- Police in Massachusetts say they have nabbed a pair of young men who were selling skis stolen from New Hampshire resorts.They caught the two when a victim spied his stolen boards for sale on e-Bay.

                    Brett Henderson of Newburyport, Mass., and Robert West, of Boston, are each charged with three counts of receiving stolen property. Police said the two 21-year-olds were selling skis stolen at the Guncstock, Waterville Valley, Cannon and Loon ski areas.

                    They think the pair netted about $5,200 through 17 e-Bay transactions since January. Neither Henderson or West immediately returned phone calls. A man who identified himself as Henderson's father says the news comes as a shock since he thought his son was running a legitimate operation.

                    The scheme fell apart after the alleged victim successfully bid for the skis and picked them up at Henderson's house, while two officers watched.

                    Comment

                    Working...