Try to find the scam

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • cphilip
    Former Moderator

    • Jun 2026
    • 16216

    #16
    Originally posted by evo.end3R
    im not sure if it is breaking the rules now since they revised them, because he up front says its a pic in his description...i remember a couple years ago, the summer before i was a freshman, there was a scam where the guy sold a high quality picture of his printer for $3000, but the way he worded, he didnt come upfront and say "this is a pic not the real printer" he worded it very slyly and got suited kinda bad, and then ebay like changed the rules to make them clearer or whatever
    I think eBay will interpret that it is against the rules. They say you must sell actual product. And normaly if you report it then they will interpret that to mean the item itself portrayed... not the pictures. url's or box it came in.

    I would report it.


    AGD, where we are so good we can do it with only ONE tube!

    cphilip.com

    Comment

    • tony3
      LOOKING FOR AN ASIAN GF!!!
      • Feb 2003
      • 3740

      #17
      I believe there is a rule against misleading auctions as well.

      www.TeamNever.com

      Comment

      • Thermus
        I spit hot fire
        • Apr 2004
        • 638

        #18
        I'll call ebay about it if it doesn't get taken down soon.
        FOR SALE: Intelliframe, AGD Flatline, AA Apocolypse, Powerlight Scepter, and more!!

        Big Sale!!!!!!!

        Feedback:
        http://www.pbreview.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=199508
        http://pbnation.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=473692
        http://cgi2.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewFeedback&userid=vickbaron
        http://www.automags.org/forums/showthread.php?p=1493651#post1493651

        Comment

        • Halliday
          Level 10
          • Oct 2000
          • 1655

          #19
          Originally posted by dirty_canadian4894
          where in iowa are you halliday? i live in te southeast and play at american outdoors, jokers wild and velocity.
          A bit OT, but like it says to the right, "Central." Des Moines, my home field is ACP.

          Back on topic, I'll go report them.

          Edit: While I was at it I reported this one too
          http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...tem=3694834613


          Super Moderator at Pbreview.com

          Comment

          • FallNAngel
            Registered User
            • Apr 2003
            • 1076

            #20
            Originally posted by cphilip
            I think eBay will interpret that it is against the rules. They say you must sell actual product. And normaly if you report it then they will interpret that to mean the item itself portrayed... not the pictures. url's or box it came in.

            I would report it.
            ..and the actual product he's selling is a picture of the DM4. He's made it clear that you're bidding on a picture of the DM4. Now they *may* say this is misleading because it's 1 sentence in the middle of a page long paragraph, but normally, they let them go. It's clearly defined on what's for auction, the people bidding on the product just don't want to read the auction.
            O-Ring Kits FS: Matrix/DM4 / Freestyle / Intimidator / Shocker SFT & More!
            X-Mag F/S Clamping Feed, 3.2 Software, extra battery and more!
            Coming Soon: Smart Parts MaxFlo and Planet Eclipse EGO kits!

            Comment

            • sharpshooter1286
              Registered User
              • Feb 2003
              • 1114

              #21
              the other day a guy told me about someone a few years ago, who would advertise "cut your bills in half" and they would send him 50$, and then he would send them back a little pair of scissors, and they couldnt get him for false advertising because thats all hbe said "cut your bills in half"

              Comment

              • Ballin with a MAG
                • Jul 2004
                • 185

                #22
                hahaha its really funny but wrong. on both of the auctions notice both of them have 0 feedback so what do you think they will think about there first ebay experience. they pay 700 for a pic of a dm4 i know i would be pissed
                Ebay feedback- http://feedback.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll


                AO feedback- http://www.automags.org/forums/showthread.php?t=150642

                Comment

                • cphilip
                  Former Moderator

                  • Jun 2026
                  • 16216

                  #23
                  Originally posted by FallNAngel
                  ..and the actual product he's selling is a picture of the DM4. He's made it clear that you're bidding on a picture of the DM4. Now they *may* say this is misleading because it's 1 sentence in the middle of a page long paragraph, but normally, they let them go. It's clearly defined on what's for auction, the people bidding on the product just don't want to read the auction.
                  Thats up to them to determine. I suspect they will interpret that a picture of something may be misleading because itsa not clear and in the title. The title is misleading because of the "Category" he placed it in. Had he placed it in "Art - Pictures - graphics" then it would not be. But its obvious he is trying to get around that for certain by placing it in Sports, paintball, equipment... So I suspect that would be the ruling on it.

                  I have seen them take down misleading ones selling URL's to a sites to buy a markers and equipment. And the URL's were real URL's and it was on CD Rom. But the thing was in Markers and was titled "Angel IR3's for 499" and such as that.

                  You don't call eBay.. your report it though their link.


                  AGD, where we are so good we can do it with only ONE tube!

                  cphilip.com

                  Comment

                  • BeaverEater
                    25thID - back in hawaii
                    • Oct 2003
                    • 1536

                    #24
                    I've seen a couple of these already. Most people just email them the picture after they have paid. People need to sit down and read the discriptions before they bid.


                    I just want this stuff gone, super low prices

                    Comment

                    • Neo-Gp
                      Toxic Rotting Piles
                      • Jan 2003
                      • 47

                      #25
                      (Please note that this auction is only for a picture of the dm4 and not for the gun it will be emailed to you shortly after the suction is over and pament is recieved.)

                      The first auction is up to $810.00
                      My Unit:Click Here
                      Feedback Links
                      My AO Feedback
                      My E-Bay Feedback
                      E-Bay Feedback #2
                      Selling my guns

                      Comment

                      • NoLifeLeft
                        Gun Hoarder
                        • Aug 2004
                        • 158

                        #26
                        Hmmm... $20 shipping on an emailed picture. nice.

                        Comment

                        • NoLifeLeft
                          Gun Hoarder
                          • Aug 2004
                          • 158

                          #27
                          I checked his other items for auction. A third picture just sold 10 seconds ago for $255. Plus $15 shipping.

                          Comment

                          • SpecialBlend2786
                            Registered User
                            • Jun 2003
                            • 4023

                            #28
                            wining bid for the first was $960 to blackgtstang2k

                            Comment

                            • SniperSmurf
                              Now I have a machine gun..
                              • Jun 2004
                              • 502

                              #29
                              That blackstang guy left him positive feedback though...
                              He also said fast payment when he was the buyer...
                              Veeeery fishy!

                              Comment

                              • Head knight of Ni
                                Silly K-niggits
                                • Mar 2004
                                • 1032

                                #30
                                Maybe he really wanted that picture.
                                March 15
                                The only good Tedi is a dead Tedi.Conker:Live&Reloaded

                                Comment

                                Working...